For Dancers Forty – Various Artists LP Vinyl (Kent)

Code: HIQLP103


Only 1 left in stock


Side One
1. Long As I Got My Baby – Jackie Day
2. Down In The City – The Marvellos
3. I Got Love – The Other Brothers
4. I’ve Got To Win Your Love (For Me) – The Simms Twins
5. My Love She’s Gone – The Intentions
6. This Couldn’t Be Me – The Sweethearts
7. The Sun Don’t Shine (Everyday) – The Saints

Side Two
1. Tobacco Road – Tommy Youngblood
2. Stand Up Straight And Tall – Jackie Shane
3. Walk The Chalk Line – Aaron Collins & The Teen Queens
4. I’m Tired Aka Love Line – Billy Watkins
5. Tired Of Walkin’ – Little Joe Hinton
6. That’s It – Z.Z. Hill
7. I Was Born To Love You – Johnny Copeland

Weight 751.00 g

For Dancers Forty






Release Year


Celebrating 40 years since the game-changing “For Dancers Only” LP, KENT 001, “For Dancers Forty” revisits the Los Angeles labels that have given us so much.

Like KENT 001, the collection represents the broad church of the Biharis’ recordings and features soul stompers, rhythm & blues busters, girly grooves and heavenly harmony.

Most tracks are new to Kent LPs and there’s a brand new 1966 soul recording from 50s Modern R&B artists Aaron Collins & the Teen Queens. Long-time Kent favourites Jackie Day, Z.Z. Hill and Johnny Copeland are included with some of their underplayed tracks – for Copeland it’s the first vinyl outing for his dancer ‘I Was Born To Love You’. As ever on our rare soul scene, it’s the lesser-known artists who we revel in and there are stunning tracks from the Simms Twins, the Marvellos, the Intentions and the in-demand (due to the Kent 45 being deleted) ‘I Got Love’ by the Other Brothers.

Tommy Youngblood’s LP track ‘Tobacco Road North’ has been a sleeper, eventually being picked up by hip hop samplers for its atmospheric musical qualities – and we at last give its proper accreditation after decades of misinformation. Little Joe Hinton’s ‘Tired Of Walkin’’ is now looked on as an R&B dance classic, despite its poor sales on release.

The Sweethearts adorn our cover with a recently discovered colour photo from the archives of Modern’s head engineer Bill Lazerus. Apart from their bouncy ‘This Couldn’t Be Me’, they provided backing for many of the stable’s 60s recordings.

You Have “Only”, “Also” and “Forever” – make space for “Forty – Ace Records

You may also like…