Ann Sexton – The Beginning LP Vinyl (Charly)

Code: CHARLYL337


Out of stock

Join the waitlist to be emailed when this product becomes available

1. I Had A Fight With Love
2. I’m His Wife (You’re Just A Friend)
3. Who’s Gonna Love You?
4. You Can’t Lose With The Stuff I Use
5. You Got To Use What You Got (Bonus Track)

1. Colour My World Blue
2. Be Serious
3. I Want To Be Loved
4. Sugar Daddy
5. You’ve Been Doing Me Wrong For So Long

Weight 501.00 g

The Beginning


Ann Sexton




Release Year


Authentic UK reissue of this collectable cult album • Exclusive ’70th Birthday’ Special Edition • Features Current club favourites “I Had A Fight With love” & “Colour My World Blue” • Also features the bonus track “You’ve Got To Use What You Got”

Mary Ann Sexton was born in Greenville, South Carolina, 5th February 1950 & remains one of the most overlooked female southern soul singers.

Her debut album ‘Loving You, Loving Me’ was released in 1973 and is now available exclusively from Club Soul (CHARLYL336). ‘The Beginning’ followed in 1977 featuring her second Billboard R&B Chart hit “I’m His Wife (You’re Just A Friend)”. Perhaps more importantly, to the Northern & Modern Soul scene, it features the ‘LP only’ in demand dance tracks “I Had A Fight With Love” & “Colour My World Blue”. Also included here, as a bonus track, is the single “You’ve Got To Use What You Got” popularised in the late-Seventies at Wigan Casino and Blackpool Mecca.

At the time of its release, Carolina DJ Manny Clark had this to say: “Come along world, & black women especially, with the beautiful & powerful singer, Miss Ann Sexton, & relive some of our “Roots”, & we agree ! MANNY CLARK WGIV Music Radio 1600 Charlotte, North Carolina

You may also like…