• Los Angeles Soul Kent - Modern's Black Music Legacy - Various Artists CD (Kent)
  • Los Angeles Soul Kent - Modern's Black Music Legacy - Various Artists CD (Kent)

Los Angeles Soul Kent – Modern’s Black Music Legacy – Various Artists CD (Kent)

Code: CDKEND430


Only 1 left in stock

01 I Want Action – Jeanette Jones
02 You Saved Me From Destruction – Difosco
03 No In-Between – Johnny Adams
04 I Was Born To Love You – Johnny Copeland
05 My Love She’s Gone – The Intentions
06 I Only Have Eyes For You – Jimmy Bee
07 Cherry Pie – Lord Charles & The Prophets
08 I Don’t Know – Earl Wright
09 Give Me A Chance (Try Me) – Venetta Fields with The Ikettes
10 You Are My First Love – Pat Hunt
11 Sing Me A Love Song – Felice Taylor
12 All That Shines Is Not Gold – The Windjammers
13 Tear My Love Down – Wayne Boykin
14 Push On Jesse Jackson (Extended version) – The Pace-Setters
15 I Know She’s Gonna Leave – Willie Gauff & The Love Brothers
16 Gone On Home – Tommy Youngblood
17 It’s Been A Long Time Baby – The Other Brothers
18 You Are My Sunshine – Jackie Shane
19 You’re My Girl – Larry Sanders
20 Move A Little Closer – Millie Foster
21 I Need Money – Ruth Davis
22 Take A Look In Your Mind – Robert Ramsey
23 I Need A Love – Wally Cox
24 Your Gonna Miss Your Chance – Maurine Williams & the Mount Olive 2nd B.C. Choir
Weight 120 g

Los Angeles Soul Kent – Modern's Black Music Legacy



Various Artists



Release Year


We revisit the Kent and Modern labels, the source of our first releases. Label owners the Biharis knew their black music and signed singers of the calibre of Johnny Copeland, the Ikettes and Jackie Shane. They also trawled in superb one-off releases from the likes of the Other Brothers from Texas, Jeanette Jones and Wally Cox from the Bay Area, the Memphis recorded Earl Wright and Larry Sanders from Alabama. The recordings were made between 1962 and 1972 and feature most styles of soul.

Ballads come from Wally Cox whose previously unreleased ‘I Need A Love’ is in a classic vocal group arrangement as is the very hard to find Modern 45 update of Marvin & Johnny’s ‘Cherry Pie’ by Lord Charles & The Prophets and also Jimmy Bee’s glorious update of ‘I Only Have Eyes For You’. The vaults contained a beautiful Betty Gouch led gospel number ‘You’re Gonna Miss You’re Chance’ which is emotionally strong enough to shock. Millie Foster offers an unissued take on Mary Love’s R&B hit ‘Move A Little Closer’.

Other male group vocals include, the Other Brothers ‘It’s Been A Long Time Baby’ and the exquisite harmonies of the Windjammers ‘All That Shines Is Not Gold’ now presented in a superb stereo format.

It’s the first time out for Jeanette Jones’ tough, raunchy treatment of Ruby Winters R&B hit ‘I Want Action’ and the southern-sounding, Arthur Wright produced, Wayne Boykin ‘Tear My Love Down’ was also never issued. The much respected Willie Gauff sings passionately on the wild, previously unheard, ‘I Know She’s Gonna Leave’ and Kent stalwart Felice Taylor was recorded on the Glories excellent Supremes-inspired ‘Sing Me A Love Song’ which debuts here in fully orchestrated splendour. Johnny Copeland’s ‘I Was Born To Love You’ is a mid-paced soulful dancer omitted from his solo CD which was first released on our “Serious Shades Of Soul” CD in 1995. We have included a few crucial tracks from that long deleted CD which contained several in-demand recordings.

The Pace-Setters ‘Push On Jesse Jackson’ combines politics and serious harmony vocals over a psychofunk rhythm and we are issuing the full five and a half minutes vocal take, double the time of the single. ‘You Saved Me From Destruction’ is also “out there” and is credited to Difosco ake Dee Ervin aka Big Dee Irwin. Several other tracks are from that late 60s experimental era for black music, the Robert Ramsey and Larry Sanders tracks are also spacey numbers, both on CD for the first time. – Ace Records

You may also like…