• Kent 30 - Best Of Kent Northern 1982-2012 - Various Artists CD (Kent)
  • Kent 30 - Best Of Kent Northern 1982-2012 - Various Artists CD (Kent)
  • Kent 30 - Best Of Kent Northern 1982-2012 CD (Back)

Kent 30 – Best Of Kent Northern 1982-2012 – Various Artists CD (Kent)

Code: CDKEND384


Only 1 left in stock


1. Ooh It Hurts Me – The Pied Piper Players
2. Beauty Is Just Skin Deep – The Sweethearts
3. Baby Without You – Gene & Gary
4. Love Keeps Me Crying – Walter Wilson
5. It’s Torture – Maxine Brown
6. I’d Be A Millionaire – Chuck Jackson
7. Have Faith In Me – Sugar & The Spices
8. You Only Live Twice – Lorraine Chandler
9. I’m Stepping Out Of The Picture – Johnny Maestro & The Crests
10. Gettin’ To Me – Ben E King
11. What Should I Do – Little Ann
12. Rising Higher – Marva Holiday
13. Try My Love – Toni & The Showmen
14. Too Much For You – Bobby Angelle
15. Two Wrongs Don’t Make A Right – The Mayberry Movement
16. The Magic Touch – Melba Moore
17. Handwriting On The Wall – Bobby Wisdom
18. Oh, My Darlin’ – Jackie Lee
19. Think Smart – The Fiestas
20. (Just A Little) Faith And Understanding – The Magicians
21. We Can Do It – The Shaladons
22. I’m Shooting High (I Reach For The Sky) – O.C. Tolbert
23. I Wanna Thank You – The Quotations
24. No Limit – Darrow Fletcher
25. Oh Baby Don’t You Weep – Luther Ingram
26. Without Your Love – Bobby Penn
27. The Panic Is On – Lou Johnson
28. (True Love Is) In The Heart – Alexander Patton
29. Changes – Lilly Fields
30. Sorry Ain’t The Word – The Paramount Four

Weight 120 g

Kent 30 – Best Of Kent Northern 1982-2012


Various Artists





Release Year


Celebrating 30 years since we released KENT 001, “For Dancers Only”, this CD is a look at Kent’s history and heritage.

That first LP gets a nod with Gene & Gary’s duet of Danny Monday’s ‘Baby Without You’, featured on CD for the first time here. There are a host of exclusives, several never having been out in any format before. Of these, Alexander Patton’s ‘True Love (Is In The Heart)’, will open traditional Northern fans’ eyes and ears the most, being from the same session and of a similar feel and quality to his ‘A Li’l Lovin’ Sometimes’ classic.

Marva Holiday’s ‘Rising Higher’ is a fabulous Sherlie Matthews’ song that will be admired by progressive Northern 60s fans.

Modern soul has been a part of the Kent landscape since the “Moving On Up” vinyl album of 1984. We celebrate that branch of the music with Darrow Fletcher’s ‘No Limit’ and the Paramount Four’s anthemic ‘Sorry Ain’t The Word’ both of which debut on CD. 70s soul fans may well buy the CD for these two alone.

Luther Ingram supplies the biggest R&B / Northern crossover number of them all, while Bobby Wisdom shows off with a potential price of £4000: if you can find one.

There are classy crowd pleasers including Toni & The Showmen, Sugar & The Spices, the Fiestas and the Sweethearts that have been marooned on Kent label stories, neglected by all but the pure in heart.

Thirty stunning soul sounds, one for each glorious year. It is not only a celebration but a revelation too.

Compilation and note by Ady Croasdell. – Ace Records

You may also like…