• Detroit Funk Vaults - Various Artists CD (BGP)
  • Detroit Funk Vaults - Various Artists CD (BGP)
  • The Detroit Funk Vaults CD (Back Cover)

Detroit Funk Vaults – Various Artists CD (BGP)

Code: CDBGPD251


Out of stock

1. A Drop In The Bucket – The Deacons
2. You Fool You Fool – Prophet & His Disciples
3. A Thing Called The Jones (Alt) – Chico & Buddy
4. Native Rhythm – The Bolton Brothers
5. The Bad Things (You Said To Me) – The Barrino Brothers
6. Brand New Girl (Inst) – Billy Garner Band
7. Clap Your Hands – Tokays
8. (Marriage Is Only) A State Of Mind – James Carpenter
9. Ghetto Stride – Dave Hamilton
10. Possession – Little Ann
11. Mister Superstar – Charmaine
12. Who – Jackie Dee
13. Love Bandit – O.C. Tolbert
14. Simon Says – The Future Kind
15. Let’s Have A Ball – Chico & Buddy
16. Hard Times – O.C. Tolbert
17. You Fool You Fool (Pt 2) – Prophet & His Disciples
18. Party Time – Dave Hamilton
19. I’ll Take My Flowers Right Now – The Barrino Brothers
20. I’m Sending Vibrations – The Webb People
21. You Won’t Miss The Water – Chico & Buddy
22. Bringing It Down (Inst) – The Peppers

Weight 120 g

Detroit Funk Vaults


Various Artists




, ,

Release Year


Dave Hamilton had a unique place in Detroit music. His success as a session musician allowed him to gather together players at his studio to recreate the sound he heard elsewhere. In the late 60s & early 70s that sound was funk and “The Detroit Funk Vaults” covers his work of that time.

Very few of these records saw release at the time, but those that did are highly sought after by collectors. Number one amongst these is Prophet & The Disciples’ ‘You Fool, You Fooled Me’ which is almost impossible to track down. O.C. Tolbert’s ‘Hard Times’ has recently been in demand, whilst the Barrino Brothers’ ‘I’ll Take My Flowers (Right Now)’ is a long-time collectors item.

With the unreleased material the funk trail leads from the proto funk of the Tokays ‘Clap Your Hands’ through the Temptations-sounding Bolton Brothers to the Funkadelic-influenced ‘Simon Says’ by the Future Kind. Dave’s own instrumental vaults were mined for funk instrumentals including ‘A Drop In The Bucket’ by the Deacons and the Quincy Jones-sounding ‘ Ghetto Stride’. O.C. Tolbert’s previously unknown recording of ‘Love Bandit’ is another premium find.

The track list is completed by a classic, James Carpenter’s ‘Marriage Is Just A State Of Mind’ and the funk instrumental version of Billy Garner’s ‘Brand New Girl’. – Ace Records

You may also like…