Strange World Of Northern Soul 6x DVD Set (Wienerworld)

Code: WNRD2174


Out of stock

Join the waitlist to be emailed when this product becomes available

TITLE Strange World Of Northern Soul
ARTIST Various Artists




Weight 1001 g

Strange World Of Northern Soul


Various Artists





Release Year


Four years in the making, over 24 hours of footage featuring 179 artists and 279 performances!

A six disc definitive collection of Northern Soul.

From the Torch to Blackpool Mecca to the legendary Wigan Casino.

We look at the sounds, the fashions, the record dealers, the promoters, the DJs and the early club members.

We visit the memorable Detroit Reunion featuring legendary Motown acts and the annual ‘Togetherness’ weekenders at Fleetwood to never before seen artists’ videos.


Wienerworld is proud and delighted to announce the DVD box set release of The Strange World of Northern Soul – the ultimate collectors dream.

Disc One

The Strange World Of Northern Soul – Part One – “The Way We Were”

We look at the origins of the Northern Soul Scene, understand just exactly what is Northern Soul, and what has made it so special to so many people for over thirty years.


Disc Two

The Strange World Of Northern Soul – Part Two – “Hallowed Ground”

We look at the clubs. From The Torch to Blackpool Mecca to the legendary Wigan Casino. We begin to understand just what the magic was that kept people going week in and week out. And why those records are SO valuable.


Disc Three

The Strange World Of Northern Soul – Part Three – “Sex, Drugs, And Northern Soul”

We look at the fashions, the record dealers, the promoters, and the seedier side of the scene, the sex and the drugs, Then we look at the recent past and the future. And we close with a moving and touching tribute by so many people whose lives were touched by this phenomenon.


Disc Four

“Motorcity” – Part One

We look at the reunion in Detroit in the late eighties of most of the legendary Motown acts who brought the world the classic Motown Sound. We see the reunion in glorious never before seen archive footage. So many of these artists have now passed away, but we see them share their hopes and dreams, and get to sing in the studio once again, after so many years.


Disc Five

“Motorcity” – Part Two plus “Togetherness”

In the fifth disc, we continue the story of the reunion of the classic Tamla-Motown stars. We then look at the magic of the annual “Togetherness” weekenders at Fleetwood, where every year in October, two and a half thousand eager dancers flock to a caravan site in Fleetwood to dance their hearts out for three days and nights continuously, as if the outside world has ceased to exist.


Disc Six

The Making of “The Strange World Of Northern Soul”

And this is the icing on the cake. A four hour, in depth look, at the trials and tribulations of tracking down 131 artists, filming them and interviewing hundreds of DJs and dancers. Contains fourteen never seen before videos, not included in the original 131 performances. Plus deleted scenes that never made it to the final cut first time around.


This then is the ultimate in Northern Soul – A real collectors’ dream.

**** Overseas customers please select tracked / Registered mail at checkout or your order will be cancelled*

You may also like…