A Cellarful Of Motown Volume 1 – Various Artists 2X CD

Code: 5446192


Only 1 left in stock

1. Baby A Go Go -Barbara McNair
2. All Your Love – Holloway, Brenda
3. He Was Really Saying Something – Van Dyke, Earl (AKA The Funk Brothers)
4. Danger Heartbreak Dead Ahead – Contours
5. Do I Love You (Indeed I Do) (alternate mix) – Clark, Chris
6. Baby Hit And Run (alternate vocal) – Contours
7. How Can I – Holloway, Brenda
8. I Like Everything About You – Contours
9. All I Do Is Think About You – Terrell, Tammi
10. Lucky Lucky Me – Ruffin, Jimmy
11. On The Avenue (In The Neighborhood) – Ruffin, Jimmy
12. My World Is Crumbling – Holloway, Brenda
13. Poor Little Rich Girl – Marvelettes
14. Save My Love For A Rainy Day – Johnson, Marv
15. Tell Me It’s A Rumour Baby (instrumental) – Funk Brothers
16. If You Ever Get Your Hands On Love – Knight, Gladys & The Pips
17. Are You Sure Love Is The Name Of The Game – Wonder, Stevie
18. Until You Came Along – Crawford, Carolyn
19. Before It’s Over – Ward, Sammy
20. Long Gone Lover – Velvelettes
1. My Sugar Baby – Wilson, Frank
2. Here Are The Pieces Of My Broken Heart (single reference mix) – Knight, Gladys & The Pips
3. There’s A Definite Change In You – Temptations
4. Who Are You Gonna Run To – Holloway, Brenda
5. (It’s Easy To Fall In Love) With A Guy Like You – Reeves, Martha & The Vandellas
6. Touch Of Venus – Holloway, Patrice
7. I Wish I Liked You (As Much As I Love You) – Gaye, Marvin
8. Trapped In A Love Affair – Holloway, Brenda
9. I Know How To Love Her – Ruffin, Jimmy
10. Riding High On Love – Walker, Junior & The All Stars
11. Why When Love Is Gone (single reference mix) – Originals
12. If This World Were Mine (single reference mix) – Fantastic Four
13. Don’t Let Me Down – Weston, Kim
14. Don’t Put Off Till Tomorrow What You Can Do Today (extended single mix) – Monitors
15. (Tell Me) It Ain’t The Truth – Barnes, J.J.
16. You Made Me Feel Like (Everything Is Alright) – Syreeta
17. A Weakspot In My Heart – Isley Brothers
18. Don’t Make Me Live Without Your Love – Lewis Sisters
19. It Must Be Love Baby – Jackson, Chuck & Yvonne Fair
20. Ain’t No Place Like Motown – Velvelettes
Weight 351.00 g

A Cellarful Of Motown Volume 1


Various Artists




, ,

Release Year


Compiled by Jazz FM’s Richard Searling, A Cellarful of Motown is a truly astonishing 40-track collection featuring 39 previously unreleased 60s cuts plucked from Hitsville’s archives. It’s simply mind-boggling that only one of these stunning tracks–Jnr Walker’s “Riding High on Love”–received an official release at the time. Incredibly, the others flunked Motown’s weekly “quality control” meetings and were consigned to the vaults. Surely no other label in the history of popular music is blessed with such a boundless provision of timeless nuggets.

Each gem here has been fastidiously restored from the original master tapes, so although many of these tunes are available as vinyl bootlegs on the northern-soul scene they are generally poorly pressed with inferior sound quality. This, then, is the compilation that Motown collectors have feverishly anticipated for years. It’s almost impossible to pick standouts as the quality throughout is eye-rotatingly brilliant; however, celestial moments include Barbara McNair’s infectious frugger “Baby A-Go-Go”, Earl Van Dyke’s exhilarating instrumental stampede through “He Was Really Sayin’ Something”, and one of the biggest northern-soul discoveries of recent years, Gladys Knight’s phenomenal “If You Ever Get Your Hands on Love”. This is an absolutely essential purchase for anyone even remotely interested in soul music. –Chris King

You may also like…