COVID-19 - Due to the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic we have made the decision to ship out once a week. We do appreciate your business but we have to put safety first. All orders will be shipped Wednesday mornings. We appreciate your custom, patience and understanding during these unprecedented times.

The UK Sue Label Story Volume 1 The World Of Guy Stevens
  • The UK Sue Label Story Volume 1 The World Of Guy Stevens
  • The UK Sue Label Story Volume 1 The World Of Guy Stevens

UK Sue Label Story Volume 1 The World Of Guy Stevens CD

Various Artists

This product is currently out of stock
Title: UK Sue Label Story Volume 1 The World Of Guy Stevens CD
Artist: Various Artists
Label: Ace
Catalogue #: CDCHD1001
Format: CD
Genre: R&B
Release Year: 2004
Condition: New & Sealed
1. Mockingbird - Inez & Charlie Foxx
2. Land Of 1000 Dances - Chris Kenner
3. I Can't Believe What You Say - Ike & Tina Turner
4. A Little Piece Of Leather - Donnie Elbert
5. Do Anything You Wanna' Part 1 - Harold Betters
6. Do Anything You Wanna' Part 2 - Harold Betters
7. Oh Mom (Teach Me How To Uncle Willie) - The Daylighters
8. Let's Stick Together - Wilbert Harrison
9. Music City - The Pleasures
10. Keep An Eye On Love - Ernestine Anderson
11. All About My Girl - Jimmy Mcgriff
12. Spring - Birdlegs & Pauline
13. That's How Strong My Love Is - O.V. Wright
14. Daddy Rollin' Stone - Derek Martin
15. You Can't Sit Down - The Phil Upchurch Combo
16. That's How Heartaches Are Made - Baby Washington
17. I Wanna Be (Your Everything) - The Manhattans
18. Watch Your Step - Bobby Parker
19. I Done Woke Up - Louisiana Red
20. Hard Grind - Wild Jimmy Spruill
21. The Bounce - The Olympics
22. Too Many Drivers - Lowell Fulson
23. Yum Yum Yum - Joe Tex
24. I Sing ‘Um The Way I Feel - J.B. Lenoir
25. Dust My Blues - Elmore James
26. Billy's Bag (Instr) - Billy Preston

The first of three volumes which, between them, chronicle the six-year lifespan of the UK Sue label, probably the most beloved imprint of all among the many collectors of blues, rock‘n’roll and soul on UK labels.

UK Sue was the R&B arm of Island Records, and – for most of its lifetime – the total responsibility of the late Guy Stevens. Almost every record that was released on Sue was personally selected by Stevens, many of them based on the reactions of the audience, when he DJ’d at the legendary London discotheque "The Scene". Stevens later went on to produce records by Mott The Hoople and the Clash in the 1970s, but it’s for the UK Sue label that he will always be remembered.

The UK Sue Story is as much his story as it is that of the records he selected for release on its familiar red and yellow logo. Among the many artists who received their first UK exposure via a Sue Records release were Elmore James, Inez and Charlie Foxx, Donnie Elbert, Big Al Downing, Billy Preston, Bob and Earl, Homesick James and Jimmy McGriff.

UK Sue also reissued many in-demand titles by such luminaries as Phil Upchurch, Bobby Parker, Huey "Piano" Smith, Frankie Ford and many more. Sue was, in many ways, the foundation on which today’s reissue market is built. Guaranteed appeal for all collectors of 50s and 60s R&B and soul music, with copious annotation, illustration and shots of original UK Sue labels to appeal to collectors everywhere!  Ace Records

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: UK Sue Label Story Volume 1 The World Of Guy Stevens CD

How do you rate this product? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars

Zoom image/s