The Nightlife! - A Northern Soul Playlist LP Vinyl

The Nightlife! - A Northern Soul Playlist LP Vinyl

Various Artists


Add To Basket

Title: The Nightlife! - A Northern Soul Playlist LP Vinyl
Artist: Various Artists
Label: Outta Sight
Catalogue #: OSVLP022
Format: LP Vinyl
Genre: Northern Soul
Release Year: 2019
Condition: New & Sealed

1. Sammy Ambrose - Welcome To Dreamsville
2. Cody Black - I'm Slowly Molding
3. T.C. Lee & The Bricklayers - Up And Down The Hill
4. Charles Spurling - She Cried Just A Minute
5. Jack Montgomery - Do You Believe It
6. Betty Lavette - (Happiness Will Cost You) One Thin Dime
7. The Charts - Livin' The Nightlife
8. Roosevelt Grier - In My Tenement


1. The Determinations - Bing Bong
2. The Athens Rogues - She Could Love Me
3. The Caesars - Girl I Miss You
4. Val Simpson - Mr Creator
5. Ernestine Eady - The Change
6. Chuck Jackson - The Silencer
7. Bob Soprano - Hey Girl
8. Johnny Maestro & The Crests - I'm Stepping Out Of The Picture

A Northern Soul Playlist…
WELCOME TO ‘The Nightlife!’, a Northern Soul playlist spanning the decades and as relevant today as when some of these discs were first spun at the height of the scene in the mid Seventies.

Our exclusive playlist features many perennial favourites such as the 100 Club anthem “Welcome To Dreamsville”, the Stafford floor filler “I’m Slowly Molding” and Jack Montgomery’s Wigan Casino spin “Do You Believe It”.

We also showcase tracks that were unreleased at the time and a number of elusive 45s such as our choice cuts from King Records including the aforementioned monster double-sider by Cody Black plus T.C. Lee & The Bricklayers “Up And Down The Hill”, Charles Spurling’s “She Cried Just A Minute” and the seldom heard “Bing Bong” by The Determinations which completes our royal hand. Other rarities worth a mention are “In My Tenement” by former New York Giants football player Rosey Grier and “She Could Love Me” by the eight-piece high school band from Athens, Georgia... The Athens Rogues. Chuck Jackson renders a killer version of the Bond-esque “The Silencer”, originally recorded by Vikki Carr for the Dean Martin movie ‘The Silencers’. It was “silenced” at the time and would have to wait almost thirty years before it was finally discovered by Ace Records in the early Nineties. But the star of the show is Bob Soprano with his stunning mid-tempo rarity “Hey Girl”.
Our playlist borrows its name from the song “Livin’ The Nightlife” by The Charts, a Fifties doo-wop group better known for their 1957 hit “Deserie”, but it is the $500 “Nightlife” that resonated on the Northern Soul scene.

Tracks that helped define the Northern Soul Nightlife!

• 16 winners that have been danced to, collected and sought after for over 40 years, many of which helped define Northern Soul
• Includes in demand rarities by Bob Soprano, T.C. Lee & The Bricklayers, Cody Black and the floorpacker by Johnny Maestro & The Crests
• Featuring tracks unreleased at the time by Val Simpson and Chuck Jackson

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: The Nightlife! - A Northern Soul Playlist LP Vinyl

How do you rate this product? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars

Zoom image/s


Add To Basket