Sylvia St James - Magic / Echoes & Images CD

Sylvia St James

Magic / Echoes & Images - Two Classic Albums On One CD


Add To Basket

Title: Magic / Echoes & Images - Two Classic Albums On One CD
Artist: Sylvia St James
Label: Expansion
Catalogue #: EXP2CD39
Format: CD
Genre: 80s Soul
Release Year: 2014
Condition: New & Sealed

1. Can't Make You Mine
2. Better Things
3. Ghetto Lament
4. Let Love Groove Me
5. Motherland
6. Black Diamond
7. Magical Minstrel
8. So I Say To You
9. Almaz Interlude
10. Behind My Back
11. Grace
12. Prime Time
13. Evening Rainbow
14. If You Let Me Love You
15. The Way To Your Heart (You've Got The Power)
16. The Bottom Line
17. Eastern Man

Sylvia was born Waukegan Illinois and raised in the suburbs of Chicago. She moved to Los Angeles to live in an Ashram which compelled her to follow it's sacred pathways which eventually led her to Los Angeles California and a World revelation of music. Her studies lead to engagements with Frank Zappa and consequently George Duke”.   When Wayne Henderson’s group Side Effect needed a new vocalist, Sylvia she stepped straight in, joining the group for their last two albums at Fantasy Records. When Side Effect moved to Elektra Records, Sylvia was signed independently to the label as a solo artist to the two albums we present here. Sylvia St. James began at Elektra on her debut album “Magic” with two further giants of jazz fusion, both also with affiliated with groups, Lenny White (Twennynine) and Larry Dunn (Earth Wind & Fire).  Also contributing is a long term affiliate of Lenny White, and legend in his own right Don Blackman. Sylvia had previously worked with Lenny White on Twennynine’s 1980 album “Twennynine featuring Lenny White”, but for her second album “Echoes & Images” Andre Fisher was brought in as producer who had previously produced Brenda Russell and worked with Sylvia St. James between projects for Betty Wright and Sheree Brown utilising top Los Angeles players. The album includes her take on “Grace” a Ronnie Laws song (she sang backgrounds for Ronnie on his and one look at the credits reveal the incredible calibre of the musicians involved. 
Sylvia would also grace projects for an array of other impressive artists including Hugh Masekela, Jeff Lorber (“Your Love Has Got Me”), Osamu Kitajima (“Yesterday And Karma”), Harry Connick Jr., Keith Richards and Bernie Taupin on his “Tribe” album with Elton John and Martin Page. Enjoy, for the first time on CD, “Magic” and “Echoes & Images” remastered from the original tapes. - Expansion 

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Magic / Echoes & Images - Two Classic Albums On One CD

How do you rate this product? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars

Zoom image/s


Add To Basket