Soul City New York - Big Apple Labels And The Dawn Of Soul Music 2x CD
  • Soul City New York - Big Apple Labels And The Dawn Of Soul Music 2x CD
  • Soul City New York - Big Apple Labels And The Dawn Of Soul Music 2x CD (Back Cover)

Soul City New York - Big Apple Labels And The Dawn Of Soul Music 2x CD

Various Artists


Add To Basket

Title: Soul City New York - Big Apple Labels And The Dawn Of Soul Music 2x CD
Artist: Various Artists
Label: Fantastic Voyage
Catalogue #: FVDD169
Format: CD
Genre: Northern Soul, 60s Soul, R&B
Release Year: 2013
Condition: New & Sealed
1. If - Ike & Tina Turner
2. You Can't Blame Me - Ike & Tina Turner
3. Mind In A Whirl - Ike & Tina Turner
4. Sleepless - Ike & Tina Turner
5. Tra La La La La - Ike & Tina Turner
6. Careless Hands - Baby Washington
7. I've Got A Feeling - Baby Washington
8. Come On, Let Me Try - Linda & The Del Rios
9. It Seemed Like Heaven To Me - Elmore Morris
10. People Sure Act Funny - Titus Turner 
11. Mama, Here Comes The Bride - Shirelles 
12. You're A Sweetheart - Dinah Washington
13. It's A Mean Old Man's World - Dinah Washington
14. You're Nobody Till Somebody Loves You - Dinah Washington
15. Operator - Gladys Knight & The Pips 
16. I'll Trust In You - Gladys Knight & The Pips
17. I Need Your Loving - Don Gardner & Dee Dee Ford
18. Tell Me - Don Gardner & Dee Dee Ford
19. Don't You Worry - Don Gardner & Dee Dee Ford 
20. Honey Sweet - Don Gardner & Dee Dee Ford
21. Don't Make Me Over - Dionne Warwick
22. I Smiled Yesterday - Dionne Warwick
23. Didn't I Tell You - Tommy Hunt
24. Poor Millionaire - Tommy Hunt 
25. And I Never Knew - Tommy Hunt
26. I just Don't Know What To Do With Myself - Tommy Hunt
27. Everybody's Got A Dance But Me - Big Dee Irwin
28. And Heaven Was Here - Big Dee Irwin 
29. Sugar Babe - Buster Brown
30. I'm Going But I'll Be Back - Buster Brown 

1. Soul Twist - King Curtis
2. Right Now - Isley Brothers
3. The Snake - Isley Brothers
4. Twist And Shout - Isley Brothers
5. Time After Time - Isley Brothers 
6. So Tight - Jokers
7. Whisper - Jokers
8. Angel Of Angels - Chuck Jackson
9. Everybody Needs Love - Chuck Jackson
10. Any Day Now - Chuck Jackson
11. Make The Night Just A Little Longer - Chuck Jackson
12. I Keep Forgettin' - Chuck Jackson
13. In Between Tears - Chuck Jackson
14. Daddy's Home - Shep & The Limelites 
15. Three Steps From The Altar - Shep & The Limelites 
16. Oh What A Feeling - Shep & The Limelites 
17. Our Anniversary - Shep & The Limelites 
18. Who Told The Sandman - Shep & The Limelites 
19. If You Gotta Make A Fool Of Somebody - James Ray
20. You Remember The Face - James Ray
21. I Need Love - Sam & Dave
22. Keep A Walkin' - Sam & Dave
23. No More Pain - Sam & Dave
24. My Love Belongs To You - Sam & Dave
25. She's Alright - Sam & Dave
26. It Feels So Nice - Sam & Dave
27. I Found Love - Jackie Wilson & Linda Hopkins
28. Sing (And Tell The Blues So Long) - Jackie Wilson
29. I Hear Voices - Screamin' Jay Hawkins 
30. Just Don't Care - Screamin' Jay Hawkins
Fantastic Voyage s new series, Soul City, explores the music being produced in key centres in the early 1960s, when R&B was evolving into the style that was soon widely referred to as soul. Having kicked off the series in Detroit, we now turn our attention to the Big Apple. While New York may not have a distinctive musical sound or style such as those which more readily identify R&B and soul recordings made in Memphis, New Orleans, Philadelphia or Nashville, the city was the home of countless singers and musicians through the decades, and also a veritable hotbed of independent record labels and producers, all seeking to make their fortunes by creating and promoting the next million-seller. The first step towards this was getting your record into the local radio station chart, hoping to break into what was then (1962) the R&B Top 50. While this may have been an easier process away from the metropolis, the audience was significantly larger and the potential reward greater for those based in the Big Apple, and the artists and tracks in Soul City New York provide a good overview of the range of talent and relative success achieved as the world of rhythm and blues evolved towards soul. Most of the tracks in this collection, which has been compiled and annotated by soul music authority Clive Richardson, were recorded for independent labels, some of which have grown in reputation over the decades such that they are now regarded as comparable to the majors of that time, and their owners have carved their own niches in the history of soul. More is known of Juggy Murray (Sue/Symbol), Florence Greenberg (Scepter/Wand) and Bobby Robinson (Fire/Fury) than of any executive of Brunswick or Roulette, and their artists have become our heroes in the annals of music history, emerging as they did from the very roots of rhythm & blues/soul music due to their mentors ears for talent. Here are some early tracks cut by Ike & Tina Turner, starting their hit trail on Sue, a range of songs by Chuck Jackson and Tommy Hunt, founding superstars of the soul era, breakthrough hits by the Isley Brothers, Dionne Warwick and Gladys Knight & the Pips, landmark recordings by Shep & the Limelites, an array of gospel-soul performances by the emergent Sam & Dave, vibrant vocals from the twilight of Dinah Washington s career, hard-to find gems from Don Gardner & Dee Dee Ford, collectors items from Jackie Wilson, Screamin Jay Hawkins and James Ray, a chance to hear such great unknowns as the Jokers, Elmore Morris and Titus Turner, and a dose of humour from Buster Brown and Big Dee Irwin. Truly a Voyage of discovery into the emergence of Soul City New York!. - Fantastic Voyage

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Soul City New York - Big Apple Labels And The Dawn Of Soul Music 2x CD

How do you rate this product? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars

Zoom image/s


Add To Basket