Millie Jackson – Caught Up / Still Caught Up CD (Hip-O)

Code: HIPD40143


3 for £25 offer

Only 1 left in stock


1. (If Loving You is Wrong) I Don’t Want To Be Right
2. The Rap
3. (If Loving You is Wrong) I Don’t Want To Be Right (Reprise)
4. All I Want Is A Fighting Chance
5. I’m Tired Of Hiding
6. It’s All Over But The Shouting
7. So Easy Going, So Hard Coming Back
8. I’m Through Trying To Prove My Love To You
9. Summer (The First Time)
10. Loving Arms
11. Making The Best Of A Bad Situation
12. The Memory Of A Wife
13. Tell Her It’s Over
14. Do What Makes You Satisfied
15. You Can’t Stand The Thought Of Another Me
16. Leftovers
17. I Still Love You (You Still Love Me)

Weight 120 g

Caught Up / Still Caught Up


Millie Jackson




Release Year


The 1974 Caught Up was Millie Jackson’s breakthrough, a soul opera about infidelity with Jackson playing the “other woman” on one side-long suite, punctuated with an extended, down-and-dirty rap, and the wronged wife on the other. With the Muscle Shoals rhythm section’s rippling pulse and slick, protodisco orchestrations backing up Jackson’s histrionic but sensitive readings of a string of cheating-song covers (plus some originals that advance the plot), this was as high-concept as ’70s soul got, and it’s kept its savage emotional force even as its style dates it. This reissue couples it with the 1975 sequel Still Caught Up, which forces the narrative a little (it ends with the mistress going insane and being hauled away!) but spawned the hit “Leftovers.” –Douglas Wolk