• The Emotions - Sunbeam - Remastered CD (Expansion)
  • The Emotions - Sunbeam - Remastered CD (Expansion)
  • The Emotions - Sunbeam CD Back Cover

The Emotions – Sunbeam – Remastered CD (Expansion)

Code: EXCDM27


3 for £25 offer

Only 1 left in stock


1. Smile
2. Love Is Right On
3. Time Is Passing By
4. Walking the Line
5. Ain’t No Doubt About It
6. Love Vibes
7. I Wouldn’t Lie
8. My Everything
9. Spirit of Summer
10. Whole Lot of Shakin’
11. Music Box

Weight 120 g








Release Year


“Sunbeam” was released during the group’s heyday with Columbia Records during the period they were affiliated with Maurice White and his group Earth Wind & Fire. They had achieved gold and platinum albums with “Flowers” and “Rejoice” respectively, and as they wrapped this album up in 1978 they were on the verge of their biggest collaboration ever with “Boogie Wonderland” the following year.

“Sunbeam” combines the full flavour of Earth Wind & Fire’s stunning music with exquisite vocals from the girls. With the success of “Don’t Ask My Neighbors” from their “Rejoice” album the previous year, it’s no surprise they turned to composer Skip Scarborough for some input this time around, and he delivered with “Walking The Line” which made the American pop charts and certainly helped contribute towards the album’s Gold selling status in the country.

In the UK we did not see other US hits from the album “Smile” and “Whole Lot Of Shakin’” do as well as “Best Of My Love” or “Flowers” had done in the past, but more recently the soul scene here discovered “Love Vibes” and turned it into a firm favourite. In fact it’s inspired a whole new Expansion compilation project of feel good, summery, uplifting tunes to be released later this year. There was also a Todd Terje re-edit of the track on the dance scene which introduced the song to a new audience

“Sunbeam” also includes “Spirit of Summer” composed by Deodato, a year before he changed the landscape for Kool & The Gang” producing “Ladies Night”.

The late 70s were exciting times for our music and so much of what made that period great can be found in this album.  – Expansion

You may also like…