Northern Soul Connoisseurs Volume 1 – Various Artists CD (Spectrum)

Code: 5568272


2 for £12 offer

Only 1 left in stock


1. He Who Picks A Rose – Jimmy Ruffin
2. Do I Love You (Indeed I Do) – Frank Wilson
3. 6×6 – Earl Van Dyke
4. Look At Me Now – Terry Callier
5. Stormy – The Supremes
6. The Way You’ve Been Acting (VOCAL)- Al Kent
7. Worth Every Tear I Cry – Dee Dee Warwick
8. Key To My Happiness – The Charades
9. Learning To Trust My Man – Sisters Love
10. Landslide – Tony Clarke
11. Baby Hit And Run – The Contours
12. Suspicion – Originals
13. Moody Woman – Jerry Butler
14. Love Love Love – Bobby Hebb
15. Back Street – Edwin Starr
16. The Boogaloo Party – The Flamingos
17. It’s Better To Have (And Don’t Need) – Don Covay

Weight 120 g

Northern Soul Connoisseurs Volume 1


Various Artists





Release Year


Another week, another northern soul compilation. Ho hum. Thankfully, Northern Soul Connoisseurs is anything but a routine collection. Following on from the superb Motown Connoisseurs, this 18 tracker is once again compiled by eminent northern DJ Richard Searling–and what a selection. As well as a clutch of celebrated classics, including the scene’s ultimate anthem, Frank Wilson’s “Do I Love You (Indeed I Do)”, there’s a smattering of highly sought after rarities. The previously unreleased Motown cut “He Who Picks A Rose” by Jimmy Ruffin a number one sound on the scene, so its inclusion is an especially timely masterstroke. Other Motor City marvels include The Supremes jaw-droppingly stupendous “Stormy” and the CD debut of Earl Van Dyke’s instrumental mod fave “6 X 6”. More familiar perhaps, but equally welcome are Terry Callier’s “Look At Me Now”, Edwin Starr’s “Back Street”, Tony Clarke’s “Landslide” and The Originals stampeding floor stomper “Suspicion”. In short, there’s not a single dud track and with its deft mix of the rare and the renowned, Northern Soul Connoisseurs is essential for fervent collectors and northern novices alike. – Chris King

You may also like…