• Barbara Mason - Lady Love CD (Soul Brother)
  • Barbara Mason - Lady Love CD (Soul Brother)
  • Barbara Mason - Lady Love CD (Back Cover)

Barbara Mason – Lady Love CD (Soul Brother)

Code: CDSBCS32


2 for £12 offer

Only 1 left in stock

1. Me And Mrs. Jones
2. Bed And Board (Extended Version)
3. Who’d Ever Think
4. World War Three
5. Caught In The Middle
6. I Miss You Gordon
7. All In Love Is Fair
8. Child Of Tomorrow
Weight 120 g

Lady Love


Barbara Mason




Release Year


Barbara Mason was born in 1947 in Philadelphia, and by the age of 12 was already starting her musical legacy. In 1965 she had a major R&B and Pop chart hit with her self written ‘Yes I’m Ready’ on the Artic label which is generally acknowledged as one of the first Philly-Soul classics.

She recorded two albums for Artic in the 60’s and another for National General in 1971 before signing to Buddah later that year. Her debut album for Buddah ‘Give Me Your Love’ contained a reworking of her classic ‘Yes I’m Ready’, and another ballad hit ‘Bed And Board’. For her second Buddah album ‘Lady Love’ also recorded at Sigma sound Philadelphia in 1973, Barbara recut ‘Bed And Board’ and extended it to over 8 mins with a spoken word ‘rap’ section similar to the style that Millie Jackson later became famous for on with her ‘Caught Up’ albums. Barbara recorded a reply to Billy Paul’s big hit and with the gender change it became ‘Mr And Mr Jones’, and is a very popular track. Barbara would later recorded replies to other songs, most famously Shirley Brown’s ‘Woman To Woman’ and Richard Dimples Fields ‘She’s Got Papers on Me’.

The albums longest track ‘World War 3’ at 10 minutes is a more groove driven semi funky horn backed Philly track , that showed the direction she was heading to with her next album. We also include as a bonus track the beautiful ‘Child Of Tomorrow’ which was taken from the ‘Gordon’s War’ soundtrack and released as a single. Barbara became known after the albums’ title ‘Lady Love’ because of her affinity to love ballads during this period of her career.

The album has been a collectors item for many years and we are proud to be able to present it for the first time on CD re-mastered from the original masters, as part of our classic albums series.-  – Soul Brother

You may also like…