Hearts For Sale! Girl Group Sounds USA 1961-1967 – Various Artists LP Vinyl (Ace)

Code: CHD1627


Only 1 left in stock


Side One
1. Street Dance – Bonnie Jean
2. That’s No Way To Spend My Time – The Pen Etts
3. Boy Trouble – The Rev-Lons
4. I Can Tell (I’m Losing Your Love) – Lena Calhoun & The Emotions
5. You Really Never Know Till It’s Over – The Vel-Vetts
6. Heart For Sale – The Fran-Cettes
7. One Way Street – The Swans

Side Two
1. No More Tears – The Sweethearts
2. To Know Him Is To Love Him – The Darlings
3. Boy You Move Me – Joan Moody
4. Lonely Girl – The Lovettes
5. My Heart Tells Me So (Aka I Know It’s You) – The Del-Phis
6. Surfers Memories – The Fashions
7. He’s Groovy – The Front Page & Her

Weight501.00 g

Hearts For Sale! Girl Group Sounds USA 1961-1967


Various Artists




Release Year


“Hearts For Sale” is the fifth and latest in our series of 12-inch vinyl albums spotlighting the US girl group sound of the 1960s. The collection opens with ‘Street Dance’ by Bonnie Jean, a little-known must-have for collectors of the genre, with Darlene Love and the Blossoms clearly audible on background vocals. Issued on Lew Bedell’s Doré label, this exciting faux-live deck in the style of Shirley Ellis’ ‘The Nitty Gritty’ was written by Guy Hemric and Jerry Styner, a hip team known for supplying songs for the soundtracks of B movies such as Muscle Beach Party and Thunder Alley.

The Hollywood-based Doré imprint is also the source of ‘You Really Never Know Till It’s Over’ by the Vel-Vetts (which shares a backing track with the Superbs’ ‘I Was Born When You Kissed Me’), ‘One Way Street’ by the Swans, a soulful update of the Teddy Bears’ ‘To Know Him Is To Love Him’ by the Darlings and – featuring lead vocals by Sheilah Page, a former member of groups such as the Bermudas, Becky & the Lollipops, the Majorettes, Joanne & the Triangles and Beverly & the Motor Scooters – ‘He’s Groovy’ by the Front Page & Her.

Other highlights include the Sweethearts’ Supremes-influenced ‘No More Tears’, the sophisticated slowie ‘Lonely Girl’ by the Lovettes (that’s them on the front sleeve), ‘My Heart Tells Me So’ by the Del-Phis (an early incarnation of Martha & the Vandellas) and the Fran-Cettes’ terrific recording of ‘Heart For Sale’. As with the earlier volumes in the series, the album comes with a fully-illustrated inner bag featuring a 2,500-word track commentary by compiler Mick Patrick. – Ace Records

You may also like…