• This Is Soul LP
  • This Is Soul LP

This Is Soul – Various Artists LP Vinyl (Warner)

Code: 0603497859122


Only 1 left in stock



1. Mustang Sally – Wilson Pickett
2. B-A-B-Y – Carla Thomas
3. Sweet Soul Music – Arthur Conley
4. When A Man Loves A Woman – Percy Sledge
5. I Got Everything I Need – Sam & Dave
6. What Is Soul? – Ben E. King

1. Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa (Sad Song) – Otis Redding
2. Knock On Wood – Eddie Floyd
3. Keep Looking – Solomon Burke
4. I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Love You) – Aretha Franklin
5. Warm And Tender Love – Percy Sledge
6. Land of 1000 Dances – Wilson Pickett

Weight 395 g


Various Artists




Release Year


Appearing first in the UK in 1968, This Is Soul was an immediate success. The compilation features the best of Stax and Atlantic artists, at a time when mainstream radio was not focused on soul music, and buying a compilation like this was UK’s first introduction to the great soul music from the US. This 1LP is a replica of the original release, in mono, starting and ending with Wilson Pickett and featuring the likes of Ben E. King, Sam & Dave and Percy Sledge. The CD reissue (also available) features 17 bonus tracks including the likes of Aretha Franklin, Otis Redding and The Bar-Kays.