• Sweet Taste Of Sin - Sensual Breakbeat Soul 2X LP (BGP)
  • Sweet Taste Of Sin - Sensual Breakbeat Soul 2X LP (BGP)

Sweet Taste Of Sin – Sensual Breakbeat Soul – Various Artists 2X LP Vinyl (BGP)

Code: BGP2141


Only 1 left in stock


Side 1
01 A Sweet Taste Of Sin – Dennis Coffey
02 I’ll See You In Hell First – Phillip Mitchell
03 Keep It Up – Betty Everett
04 Backed Up Against The Wall – The 3 Pieces

Side 2
05 Don’t Risk Your Happiness On Foolishness – Fantastic Four
06 Set It Out – The Detroit Emeralds
07 Baby, Get Down – Eddie Mcloyd
08 Killing Time – Natural Essence

Side 3
09 Love Starved – Shirley Brown
10 Sweet Music, Soft Lights And You – Millie Jackson & Isaac Hayes
11 Your Love Is My Desire – Eramus Hall
12 It Hurts So Good – Millie Jackson

Side 4
13 I’m Gonna Have To Tell Her – Isaac Hayes
14 If I Had The Power – Johnny “Guitar” Watson
15 I Got To Have Your Love – Caesar Frazier
16 Do It To Me Now – Fatback

Weight 501 g

Sweet Taste Of Sin – Sensual Breakbeat Soul


Various Artists




Release Year


In the 1970s black music took on a different edge. Although soul had always been about love, heartbreak, loss and cheating, men and women doing what men and women do, it had also been down home or at least raw. Even the big city soul of the 60s kept this feeling. As the 70s dawned it brought on a different aspect. Whether it was through an increasing sense of affluence among a substantial chunk of black America, or an escapism foisted on the whole nation through television’s ability to bring the consumerist ideal into anyone’s home, is anyone’s guess. But it was undoubtedly helped by an increasingly sophisticated set of production values and studio technology.

Isaac Hayes and, later, Barry White, were the most obvious manifestations of this phenomenon – all furs, Rolls Royces and champagne – but even records such as Stevie Wonder’s greatest albums, or Marvin Gaye’s I Want You could not have happened even five years previously. Motown’s 60s attempts at elegance had a distinctly white feel to them-.-what happened next was on different terms.

This compilation takes this change to heart – even the most traditional record here, It Hurts So Good, has a distinct sheen – and appreciates these records for what they are. And that is some of the mightiest slices of soul ever recorded, allied to a sense of production – big drums, plenty of space, lots of strings – that makes them an essential hunting ground for today’s producers. By Dean Rudland – Ace Records

You may also like…