• Stirring Up Some Gospel - The Original Sound Of UK Club Land CD
  • Stirring Up Some Gospel - The Original Sound Of UK Club Land CD

Stirring Up Some Gospel – The Original Sound Of UK Club Land – Various Artists CD (Jasmine)

Code: JASCD1044


3 for £25 offer

Only 1 left in stock


1. The Gospel Pearls – Two Little Fishes
2. Evelyn Freeman – Didn’t It Rain
3. The Staple Singers – Good News
4. The Soul Seekers – Something’s Got A Hold Of Me
5. The Wanderers – Shadrach Meshack And Abednego
6. Sister Marie Knight – Who Rolled The Stone Away
7. The Famous Ward Singers – I’m Getting Richer
8. Cross Jordan Singers – Precious Lord
9. Fay Simmons – He Got The Whole World In His Hands
10. The Hightower Brothers – Until He Comes
11. North Philadelphia Juniors – Got To Go To Heaven
12. Mahalia Jackson – I’m On My Way
13. Rev. Utah Smith – Two Wings
14. Marion Williams – Packin’ Up
15. James Cleveland – I Need Jesus On My Journey
16. Kae Williams – Old Man Mose
17. Bessie Griffin And The Gospel Pearls – Lord Don’t Move The Mountain
18. Sister Wynona Carr – The Ball Game
19. The Gospel Harmaniers – To Close
20. Roy Brown – Goliath
21. The Traveling Echoes – Jesus Loves Me
22. Sister O.M. Terrell – I’m Going To That City (To Die No More)
23. The Soul Stirrers – Wade In The Water
24. Buddy Lamp – Promised Land
25. Spirit Of Memphis – Lost In Sin

Weight 120 g


Various Artists




Release Year


Welcome To The Club! Jasmine Records’ latest adventures in UK clubland where they continue their exploration of the “Club Beat” – the roots of Mod, R&B and Soul – that coalesced in the bohemian melting pot of Soho, London, post WW2.




In this chapter they explore the timeless sound of foot-stomping Gospel music as heard throughout the UK underground Rare Soul scene, both as current productions and as 1950’s R&B-tinged rarities that form the playlist of our original 25-track compilation.




Features new-to-CD tracks including the “Two Little Fishes” by The Gospel Pearls, ‘Precious Lord” by Cross Jordan Singers, “I’m On My Way” by Mahalia Jackson, “Goliath” by Roy Brown and many more.




“Gospel music is nothing but singing of good tidings – spreading the good news. It will last as long as any music because it is sung straight from the human heart.” – Mahalia Jackson




Includes illustrated and informative liner notes.