• South Texas Rhythm 'N' Soul Revue 2 CD (Kent)
  • South Texas Rhythm 'N' Soul Revue 2 CD (Kent)

South Texas Rhythm ‘N’ Soul Revue 2 – Various Artists CD (Kent)

Code: CDKEND441


Only 1 left in stock


1. Too Good To Be True – The Traits
2. I’m Losing You – Chet McDowell
3. Half A Man – Charles Berry
4. The Bad Times Make The Good Times – Warren Storm
5. I Got A Right To Lose My Mind – Margo White
6. You’d Better Investigate – David King Thomas
7. T’Ain’t It The Truth – Jean Knight
8. Strange Love – Eugene Gamble
9. You’re Losing Me – Jo Jo Benson
10. At Your Wedding – Jackie Paine
11. Wish You Were Here – Ronnie Milsap
12. Neighbor Neighbor – Margo White
13. Total Disaster – Lee Maye
14. I’m Losing You – Henry Moore
15. All About Love – Big Sam
16. The Pleasure Of My Woman – Rocky Gil And The Bishops
17. Please Pass The Soul – Dean Scott
18. Skid Row Blues – Jackie Paine
19. Sick – Prince Charles
20. Good Doctor Sweet Soul – Joe Fritz
21. Tender Loving Pain – Luvenia Lewis
22. After Hour Man – Joe Medwick
23. The Rains Came – Joe Hughes
24. Spunky Onions – Johnny Adams

Weight 120 g

South Texas Rhythm 'N' Soul Revue 2


Various Artists





Release Year


A much anticipated follow-up to Kent’s first volume of 1960s South Texas soul and R&B from independent producer Huey Meaux.

This compilation further excavates the overflowing Meaux tape vaults to come up with another 24 shining examples of the Highway 90 Sound (as it’s known locally).

The artists featured range from internationally known hitmakers to local South Texas stars to terminal obscurities; all share a common bond of excellence.

Virtually none of these tracks have been reissued since their original appearance on vinyl up to 50 years ago. Three have never been issued at all.

The soul here is a mixture of blue-eyed and black American, all of it passed through the melting pot of styles that bubbled in the Houston area during soul’s golden decade.

You may also like…