New York Soul Serenade – Various Artists CD (Kent)

Code: CDKEND149


Only 1 left in stock


01 I’m Stepping Out Of The Picture – Johnny Maestro & The Crests
02 My Arms Aren’t Strong Enough – Judy Clay
03 Am I Falling In Love – Maxine Brown
04 I’m Gonna Have A Party – Ed Bruce
05 The Man Who Has Everything – Junior Lewis
06 Let’s Play House – Tony Drake
07 If It’s For Real Baby – Porgy & The Monarchs
08 Oh Lord, What Are You Doing To Me – Big Maybelle
09 Don’t Believe Him, Donna – Chuck Jackson
10 New Neighbourhood – Billy Byers
11 Welcome To Dreamsville – Sammy Ambrose
12 In My Tenement – Roosevelt Grier
13 Don’t Hear, Speak, See No Evil – The Platters
14 You Need Me – Little Charles & The Sidewinders
15 Sugar (Don’t Take My Candy Away) – The Jive Five
16 It Won’t Hurt – The Gentlemen Four
17 Not Now But Later – Walter Johnson
18 No Easy Way Down – Walter Jackson
19 This Empty Place – The Tangeers
20 Haven’t Got What It Takes – Judy Clay
21 The Hurt – Freddie North
22 See The Big Man Cry – Ed Bruce
23 False Alarm – Tommy Hunt
24 Who’s Gonna Mention My Name – Lonnie Sattin
25 Would You Still Say That I’m The One That You Love – Ray Crossen
26 A Little Too Lonely – Marie Knight
27 (There Goes) The Forgotten Man – Jimmy Radcliffe
28 Soul Serenade – Brooks O’dell

Weight 120 g

New York Soul Serenade


Various Artists





Release Year


Years have passed since Adrian Croasdell found first himself in the tape vaults at Scepter /Wand and Musicor. The endorphin rush he experienced then must have been so potent that the poor boy can’t stop himself from going back for more.

Ady’s addiction is one to be encouraged-.-it means we can all experience the ethereal pleasures only made possible by listening to the sounds of New York City Soul. This cleverly compiled collection, featuring tracks from 1962-72, brings together all of the musical styles necessary to ensure that everybody who tunes in will be satisfied, be they permanent residents of, or occasional visitors to the sound of, the Big Apple.

The CD kicks off with Johnny Maestro’s dramatic I’m Stepping Out Of The Picture, now regarded a classic side since its debut at the 100 Club – courtesy of you know who. With this track you’ll find yourself instantly transported back to what must have been groovy times – you don’t need a Tardis just close your eyes. The male artists are well represented with offerings from the mournful Ed Bruce, frantic Sammy Ambrose, pleading Chuck Jackson and an unissued Billy Byers. What more could you want? Well ‘Girls’ of course. Naturally there are plenty of those too. Two cracking sides from Judy Clay, an in-demand Maxine Brown tune and the essential Big Maybelle and Marie Knight. Group sounds abound: Northern sides being flipped over to reveal uplifting ballads from the Gentlemen Four and Porgy & The Monarchs-.-the Platters deliver a few words of sound advice-.-and Little Charles gives us a finger-clicking ditty that makes its first public appearance here.

This latest offering from Kent provides more soul than stomp, more ballads and more pleasure than Prozac. – Ace Records.

You may also like…