• Mod Jazz And Then Some! CD
  • Mod Jazz And Then Some! CD
  • Mod Jazz And Then Some! CD (Back Cover)

Mod Jazz And Then Some! Various Artists CD (KENT)

Code: CDKEND416


Out of stock

01 Another Child Lost – Floyd White
02 Dig In – The Pac-Keys
03 Hard Working Girl – Clarence Daniels & Obie Jessie
04 Bossa Baby – Googie Rene & His Combo
05 Hen House – Paul & Rick
06 Sister Sadie Part 1 – Shirley Scott
07 Saturday Night Stomp – Eddie “Blues Man” Kirkland
08 Leavin’ Town – The Nightbeats
09 Free For All – King Curtis
10 The Fat Man – The TKO’s
11 That’s A Lie – Billy Larkin & His Orchestra
12 Watermelon Walk – The Five Counts
13 Congo Buggie – Freddy Washington’s Band
14 Chili With Honey – Danny Bell & The Bell Hops
15 Poontwangie aka 3 O’Clock Stomp – B.B. King
16 Cooking In Grease – The Reuben Wilson Quartet
17 Troubles – Bobby Jenkins & His Quartet
18 Sorry ‘Bout That – Chuck Higgins
19 Comin’ Home Baby – Eric Kloss
20 In The Dark – Dave Hamilton
21 Bucket Full Of Soul – Trudy Pitts
22 Nature Boy – Etta Jones
23 You Were Wrong – The Miles Grayson Trio
24 El Tacos – Frenchy & The Chessmen

Weight 120 g

Mod Jazz And Then Some!


Various Artists




Release Year


The latest edition of the sharpest compilation in the racks. Ady Croasdell and Dean Rudland dig out 24 jazz, bluesy, latino grooves, which are destined for or have already achieved greatness.

The latest volume digs deep into the archives of black America, to come up with tracks from obscure 45s or were hidden on LPs by labels big and small. We have in-demand 45s by Reuben Wilson and Billy Larkin on Flodavieur and Frenchy and The Chessmen’s rare Dave Hamilton productions.

We’ve revisited the ultimate mod jazz label, Prestige, and dug out tunes that are now earning their collectable stripes. From the sanctified organ groove of Shirley Scott’s ‘Sister Sadie’, to Etta Jones’ sublime version of ‘Nature Boy’, a big record on the popcorn-influenced European scene and highly collectable.

Old favourites such as Googie Rene and Hank Jacobs (as part of the TKO’s) return to bring more of their immaculate grooves and perhaps best of all is the Nightbeats’ previously unreleased ‘Leavin’ Town’. It could have been recorded specifically with Mod Jazz in mind. -Ace Records