• Masterpieces Of Modern Soul Volume 4 - Various Artists CD (Kent)
  • Masterpieces Of Modern Soul Volume 4 - Various Artists CD (Kent)

Masterpieces Of Modern Soul Volume 4 – Various Artists CD (Kent)

Code: CDKEND437


Only 1 left in stock


1. Baby, You Got It All – Street People
2. Talking About The Love I Have For You – George Jackson
3. Daddy Please Stay Home – Obrey Wilson
4. Don’t Lose What You Got – The Dramatics?
5. Don’t Matter If It’s In The Past/To Me – Billy Cee & The Freedom Express
6. Don’t Send Nobody Else – Luv Co
7. Gotta Be Loved – Herman Davis
8. See Saw Affair – Cesar
9. I’ll Laugh Till I Cry – Toussaint Mccall
10. I’ve Got News For You – Viola Wills
11. I’ve Never Been In Love Before – Alvin Robinson
12. If There Were No You – Natural Resources
13. It Takes Heart – Greg Perry
14. It’s Everything About You That I Love – The Pretenders
15. We Communicate – Gail Anderson
16. Just Lovin’ You; Alt Rap Intro – Garland Green
17. Midnight Affair – George Soule
18. Never Felt This Way Before – The New Experience
19. Night After Night – Elayne Starr
20. No Limit – Darrow Fletcher
21. You’re My Little Girl/ Gotta Get Free-Edit – The Ovations
22. Tears Begin To Fall – Elaine Armstrong
23. There Will Never Be Another You – Jesse Johnson & Chocolate Fudge
24. You Amaze Me – Fox Fire

Weight 120 g

Masterpieces Of Modern Soul Volume 4


Various Artists





Release Year


Our latest volume of “Modern Soul” sides is a particularly splendid affair. The four-year gestation period is a reflection of the scarcity of these tracks and the gradual increase in the percentage of masters that were not issued at the time of recording to a staggering 70% tells us it’s what’s in the tape box that counts nowadays.

Aural debuts abound; Elaine Armstrong cut one great single for King in 1968 but the company left the mid-tempo sadness of ‘Tears Begin To Fall’ in the vaults. Jesse Johnson recorded in Los Angeles and cut a pretty upbeat love song, ‘There Will Never Be Another You’, for veteran producer Johnny Otis. The other Johnny Adams, who cut for Modern and Money, also performed with the group Fox Fire and an unissued LP featured a long beautiful ballad with a slow beat called ‘You Amaze Me’; sophisticated in the extreme.

Dave Hamilton’s Detroit projects ran from the 40s to the 80s and in the later years he came up with some modern soul winners, such as the previously unheard pleading male vocal of the New Experience’s ‘Never Felt This Way Before’ and Elayne Starr’s ‘Night After Night’ which has a hint of disco.

Real released records feature in the form of Street People’s ‘Baby, You Got It All’, a great mid-70s Spring dancer which is overlooked and hard to find. The Spring tapes also gave up an alternate lead vocal to Millie’s ‘Don’t Send Nobody Else’, here credited to Luv Co.

Quirks abound – we’re featuring the Garland Green rap version which only came out on the 1990 Kent LP by accident.

Compilation and notes by Ady Croasdell. – Ace Records

You may also like…