• J&S Harlem Soul - Various Artists CD (Kent)
  • J&S Harlem Soul - Various Artists CD (Kent)
  • J&S Harlem Soul CD (Back Cover)

J&S Harlem Soul – Various Artists CD (Kent)

Code: CDKEND306


Only 1 left in stock


1. Disappointed Bride – Baby Washington With The Hearts
2. The Leaf Is Just Like Me – Catha Morrison
3. I’m A Working Man Who Needs A Good Woman – Clarence Ashe
4. She Said I’d Be A Failure – Clarence Ashe
5. The Dream I Had Came True – Dicky & Billy
6. I Got A Feeling – Dicky & Billy
7. Money And All Your Love – Freda Allyne
8. I Won’t Ever Try To Change You – Henry Hodge
9. I Want To Be Close To You – Jimmy Armstrong & The Pins
10. I Pray To Keep Our Love Strong – Johnnie & Joe
11. Let Your Mind Do The Walking – Johnnie & Joe
12. Every Night The Same Time – Johnnie Richardson
13. Ha Baby, I’m Coming On Back – Lee Pratt
14. Let Sleeping Dogs Lie – Miss Johnnie
15. It Doesn’t Matter – Neice Dezel
16. You Needn’t Tell Me – Sity & James
17. Stay Away From My Baby – Taffie Lee
18. Life Of Love – Freeman Brothers
19. 24 Hours Of The Day – The Gillettes
20. You Haven’t Been Like You Should – The Gillettes
21. Don’t Let Me Down – The Hearts
22. Be My Boyfriend – The Jaynetts
23. Say You Love Me – The Relations
24. Dancing In A Dream World – Jimmy & Arthur

Weight 120 g

J&S Harlem Soul


Various Artists





Release Year


Ace has already released four compilations of material from Zell Sanders’ New York-based J&S Records and subsidiaries, and now it is the turn of Kent to dig into the label’s soul output.

The CD contains super-rare singles from Jimmy & Arthur, Taffie Lee, Dicky & Billy, and the Gillettes. Deep soul comes from Miss Johnnie, Baby Washington and the Freeman Brothers, plus there are some great tracks from the neglected Clarence Ashe.

While eleven of these tracks have previously appeared over the four Ace compilations, this CD is designed purely for the Kent customer, who is unlikely to have purchased the previous releases.

Compilation and notes by Ady Croasdell. – Ace Records

You may also like…