Groove With A Feeling – Sounds Of Memphis Boogie, Soul and Funk 1975-1985 CD (BGP)

Code: CDTOP293


Only 1 left in stock

1. You Can Bet I Can Get You Yet – Lee Moore
2. Ridin – Erma Shaw
3. One On One – Demetrius
4. Don’t Fight It – Louis Williams
5. What You Do For Love – Lee Moore
6. Groove With A Feeling – Freedom Express
7. Rap On – Unknown Artist
8. Cold Blooded Sally – Fran Farley
9. Politics – Everyday People
10. New Lang Syne – Kannon
11. Got To Have My Own – Fran Farley
12. I’ll Be There – Jacksonians
13. Gone – Vision
14. We Need Love – Donald O connor
15. Lord Give Me A Little Of Your Heaven – Fran Farley
16. What’s In The Dark – Lee Moore
17. Attraction – Erma Shaw
18. Tighter Tighter – Demetrius & Takelia
19. Dream Girl – Freedom Express
Weight 120 g

Groove With A Feeling – Sounds Of Memphis Boogie, Soul and Funk 1975-1985


Various Artists




, , ,

Release Year


This instalment of our examination of the Sounds Of Memphis label and studio focuses on the decade between 1975-1985, as regional differences faded and soul changed into funk and boogie.

The 19 tracks are all, bar one, previously unissued. There are three tracks by the highly collectable Lee Moore, one by the Ovations’ Louis Williams, one by Vision and two by former Hi records backing singer Erma Shaw.

The booklet includes previously unseen photographs and a 2500 word essay that includes interviews with Lee Moore and with label and studio boss Linda Lucchesi.

The release offers an insight to a largely overlooked period of the Memphis recording story. – Ace Records

You may also like…