• Everybody Makes A Mistake - Stax Southern Soul Volume 2 - Various Artists CD (Kent)
  • Everybody Makes A Mistake - Stax Southern Soul Volume 2 - Various Artists CD (Kent)

Everybody Makes A Mistake – Stax Southern Soul Volume 2 – Various Artists CD (Kent)

Code: CDKEND499


Only 2 left in stock


1. I’ll Do Anything For Your Love (Single Edit) – William Bell
2. How Can I Win Your Love – Eddie Floyd
3. I’m Gonna Have To Tell Her – Isaac Hayes
4. A Smile Can’t Hide (A Broken Heart) (Alt Mix) – Ollie & The Nightingales
5. Let’s Make A Deal – Frederick Knight
6. Standing In The Safety Zone – The Soul Children
7. Spare Me The Hurt Of Losing You –The Newcomers
8. Guilty Of Loving You – Veda Brown
9. We’ve Got Love On Our Side – Bettye Crutcher
10. I’m Tired – Mavis Staples
11. Got To Get Away From You – Israel Tolbert
12. I’m Too Old To Play – Jimmy Hughes
13. Everybody Makes A Mistake – Eddie Floyd
14. Ain’t Nobody Like My Baby – Lee Sain
15. Just A Little Overcome – The Nightingales
16. It Takes Me All Night – Eddie Giles
17. You Need Love – Chuck Brooks
18. Ain’t No Way – Shirley Brown
19. Did You Hear Yourself Part 1 – Randy Brown And Company
20. Come Get From Me Parts 1 & 2 – David Porter

Weight 120 g

Everybody Makes A Mistake – Stax Southern Soul Volume 2


Various Artists





Release Year


Stax Records in Memphis was one of the centres of southern soul, yet due to its many hits and big city location, this often gets forgotten. We redressed that balance with the release of “Nobody Wins: Stax Southern Soul” but there was so much more to play that we’re back with 20 more tracks that capture the deep emotion and soulful feel of the Memphis behemoth.

First up we have found a bunch of previously unreleased tracks. There are two by Eddie Floyd, including his own version of ‘Everybody Makes A Mistake’, first released by Otis Redding on “The Soul Album”; and there’s a stormer called ‘Standing In The Safety Zone’ by the Soul Children. We also have alternate takes of originally unreleased tracks by Ollie & the Nightingales and William Bell, and have gathered up rare tracks that appeared as bonus tracks on CDs by Jimmy Hughes, Mavis Staples, Shirley Brown, the Newcomers, David Porter, Chuck Brooks and Veda Brown.

Of those that saw release at the time, we have obscure B-sides by Eddie Giles, Israel Tolbert and Lee Sain. Singles from Randy Brown, Frederick Knight and the Nightingales are as good as anything the label released, and Isaac Hayes is present with his take on the Banks & Hampton single ‘I’m Gonna Have To Tell Her’, one of the great southern soul songs.

Packaged with in-depth sleeve notes and extensive illustrations. – Ace Records

You may also like…