• Betty Wright - Explosion with Bonus Tracks CD
  • Betty Wright - Explosion with Bonus Tracks CD
  • Betty Wright - Explosion with Bonus Tracks CD (Back)

Betty Wright – Explosion with Bonus Tracks CD (Soul Brother)

Code: CDSBCS53


Out of stock

1. Open The Door To Your Heart (4:35)
2. Do Right Girl (4:20)
3. I Think I’d Better Think About It (3:10)
4. Smother Me With Your Love (2:50)
5. Don’t Forget To Say I Love You Today (4:45)
6. Keep Feelin’ (4:50)
7. Rock On Baby, Rock On (3:08)
8. If I Ever Do Wrong (4:32)
9. Bluesville (2:35)
10. Life (4:25)
11. To Love And Be Loved (2:35)
12. Ooola La (2:45)
13. Slip And Do It (3:15)
14. If I Was A Kid (3:42)
Weight 120 g

Explosion with Bonus Tracks


Betty Wright




Release Year


Betty Wright has been of the most well known and respected female Soul singers in a career that spans 45 years. Her breakthrough million selling hit from 1971 ‘Clean Up Woman’ is an iconic Soul sister track.  Betty recorded eight albums for the Miami based Alston label part of Henry Stone’s TK empire between.1968 and 1979. Soul Brother Records are delighted to release what are considered her two best albums, Danger High Voltage from 1974 and Explosion from 1976. This is the first time this classic album has been released on CD.
Betty’s 1976 album ‘Explosion’ is considered by many to be her career best. It certainly contains some of her greatest tracks. Explosion was best known at the time for Betty’s rousing version of Darrell Banks 60’s classic ‘Open the Door To Your Heart’. The string laden 2 stepper ‘Smother Me With Your Love’ has been a very popular track on the Rare Groove scene for the past 25 years. ‘Keep Feelin’ is a great Modern Soul mid tempo dancer, that has gained popularity in recent years. The Ballads ‘If I Ever Do Wrong’, ‘I Think You Better Think About it’ and the jazzier ‘Life’ are also highlights.
This CD version of the album is enhanced by the inclusion of four non album 45 sides. ‘Ooo La La’ from 1975 is a typically Miami funky disco soul number, its flip side ‘To Love And Be Loved’ a nice ballad. The deeper and funkier ‘Slip and Do It’ was an underground club track. ‘If Was A Kid’ was the flip side of ‘Life’ and is a future Modern Soul classic awaiting discovery that ends this CD on a high.
Betty Wright is still very popular today and her comeback album last year with the Roots ‘Betty Wright The Movie’ has raided her profile further.  She appeared on Jools Holland new Years Eve show and recently two sell out shows at London’s Jazz Café, and performed ‘Shoorah Shoorah’ from the Danger High Voltage album. She has also been involved with Angie Stone and Joss Stone in recent years. – Soul Brother