COVID-19 - Due to the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic we have made the decision to ship out once a week. We do appreciate your business but we have to put safety first. All orders will be shipped Wednesday mornings. We appreciate your custom, patience and understanding during these unprecedented times.


Mary Wells

Something New: Motown Lost & Found 1961-1964 2x CD

This product is currently out of stock
Title: Something New: Motown Lost & Found 1961-1964 2x CD
Artist: Mary Wells
Label: Motown
Catalogue #: 3711775
Format: CD
Genre: Motown, 60s Soul
Release Year: 2012
Condition: New & Sealed

1. (You Can) Depend On Me
2. Why Do You Want To Let Me Go
3. Money (That's What I Want)
4. Is It Me Or Is It You
5. I've Got A Story
6. Guarantee (For A Lifetime)
7. To Lose You
8. Cinderella (It's Twelve O'Clock)
9. When Your Lover Comes Back
10. I Want You 'Round (Mary Wells & Smokey Robinson)
11. My Heart Is Like A Clock (Featuring The Supremes)
12. Goodbye And Good Luck
13. Forgive And Forget
14. I'll Be Available
15. Can You Fix It (My Broken Heart)
16. Have A Little Patience (And Wait) (Featuring The Supremes)
17. Free From Your Spell (Featuring The Supremes)
18. My World Of Dreams
19. Your Loss, My Gain (You Lost The Sweetest Boy) (Featuring The Supremes And The Temptations)
20. Strange Love - Greystone Version
21. Prove It
22. One Block From Heaven
23. That's Why I Love You (Like I Do)
24. Drop In The Bucket
25. Everybody Needs Love
26. Honey Boy
27. When I'm Gone

1. Back In My Arms
2. All I Got
3. You Can Dance
4. I'm Yours, You're Mine
5. Oh Lover
6. Let's Talk It Over
7. In Case You Need Love

8. The Second Time Around
9. This Is Something New
10. I've Grown Accustomed To His Face (Featuring The Four Tops)
11. Again (Featuring The Four Tops)
12. Can't Get Out Of This Mood (Featuring The Four Tops)
13. The Party's Over
14. I Wanna Be Around
15. I Remember You (Featuring The Four Tops)
16. Teach Me Tonight
17. Secret Love
18. All I Do Is Dream Of You

In Motown’s beginning Mary Wells was the Queen – its first genuine solo star, the headliner of the Motortown Revues, whose hits are among the finest of the early 1960s: “Two Lovers,” “You Beat Me To The Punch,” “The One Who Really Loves You,” “My Guy.” And, like every other artist on the growing roster, Wells recorded as often as possible, creating more than enough for her singles and albums releases. With this revealing new 2-CD collection, Something New: Motown Lost & Found, we’ll hear all of her amazing “extra” music: 47 rare tracks, 23 of them never before heard.


Something New: Motown Lost & Found is an extraordinary, chronological overview of Mary working with nearly every producer at the company, from Smokey Robinson to Holland-Dozier-Holland, Berry Gordy to Mickey Stevenson, even the Contours’ Sylvester Potts. Among the unreleased sides are four newly discovered duets with Marvin Gaye. Two near-duets with the young “no-hit” Supremes. Sessions for an unfinished standards album, featuring a set of tracks targeted for the adult market in which she is backed on a few tracks by the newly signed Four Tops. An early version of the B-side “You Lost The Sweetest Boy,” known as “Your Loss, My Gain.” A classy “cha-cha” track, “This Is Something New,” whose sublime performance inspired this collection’s title.


You’ll also hear the two-dozen songs issued after Mary left the label in 1964, now collected in one place for the first time: the seven vault tracks from the 1966 LP Vintage Stock, including Smokey’s “When I’m Gone” and “I’ll Be Available”; three rare duets with Marvin Gaye from his first box set; the 11 cuts first issued on the 2-CD set from the 1990s, Looking Back; and three others scattered across various rarities collections. The difference here: all of them are in unreleased stereo mixes for the first time.


Something New: Motown Lost & Found is housed in a digi-pak that includes a 32-page booklet, a treasure trove of rare photos and an essay by writer Stu Hackel. It’s a special collection telling a deeper story of young Mary Wells and the ascent of an iconic company.


Released on Motown / Hip-O-Select

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Something New: Motown Lost & Found 1961-1964 2x CD

How do you rate this product? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars

Zoom image/s