James Brown - Out Of Sight! - The Very Best Of  CD
  • James Brown - Out Of Sight! - The Very Best Of  CD
  • James Brown - Out Of Sight! - The Very Best Of  CD (Back)

James Brown

Out Of Sight! - The Very Best Of CD

3 for £20 offer

Add To Basket

Title: Out Of Sight! - The Very Best Of CD
Artist: James Brown
Label: Universal
Catalogue #: 5892792
Format: CD
Genre: Classic Soul, Funk
Release Year: 2002
Condition: New & Sealed

1. Papa's Got A Brand New Bag (parts 1 & 2)
2. Get Up (I Feel Like Being A) Sex Machine
3. I Got You (I Feel Good)
4. Out Of Sight
5. Say It Loud (I'm Black And I'm Proud)
6. Try Me
7. I Got the Feelin'
8. Hot Pants
9. Please Please Please
10. It's A Man's Man's Man's World
11. Night Train
12. Give It Up Or Turnit A Loose
13. Think
14. The Payback
15. Soul Power (parts 1 & 2)
16. Body Heat (part 1)
17. Funky Drummer
18. Get Up Offa That Thing

James Brown is, quite simply, one of most influential artists of the last five decades and any self-respecting music fan should own at least one collection of his finest moments. Out of Sight--The Very Best of James Brown is the perfect introduction. Concentrating on The Godfather of Soul's heyday, the early 60s to mid-70s, this 18-tracker charts his transition from the molten knee-scraping balladry of "Please Please Please" to the ferocious funk and righteous anger of "The Payback". There isn't a dud track and although the dramatic ballad "It's A Man's Man's Man's World" is the equal of anything here, the emphasis is on rhythm-propelled grooves. It's remarkable that the combustible likes of "Out of Sight", "I Got You (I Feel Good)" and "Papa's Got A Brand New Bag" (Parts 1 and 2) date from as far back as the mid-60s. With their repetitive rhythms, juddering bass lines and staccato horn blasts, such tracks laid the foundations for what we now know as funk. Arguably, the first fully fledged funk release was Brown's seminal 1970 release "Get Up (I Feel Like Being A) Sex Machine". A truly ground-breaking record, it inspired a new generation to get on the good foot. Predictably, there are omissions, notably "Cold Sweat", "Superbad and "Papa Don't Take No Mess" but anyone new to Soul Brother Number One will inevitably move on from here and investigate his extraordinary back-catalogue.--Chris King


Released on Polydor (Uk) A division of Universal Music.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Out Of Sight! - The Very Best Of CD

How do you rate this product? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars

Zoom image/s


Add To Basket