COVID-19 - Due to the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic we have made the decision to ship out once a week. We do appreciate your business but we have to put safety first. All orders will be shipped Wednesday mornings. We appreciate your custom, patience and understanding during these unprecedented times.


Ian Martin

The Way CD

2 for £10 offer

Add To Basket

Title: The Way CD
Artist: Ian Martin
Label: Expansion
Catalogue #: EXCDP40
Format: CD
Genre: 00s Soul & Nu / Neo Soul
Release Year: 2005
Condition: Like New
1. Welcome
2. Release
3. Brother
4. It's Your Nite
5. You Are (edrew remix)
6. No Regrets
7. Movin' On
8. Knockdown Side
9. Interlude
10. So In Love (edrew remix)
11. Family
12. Tell Me If You Still Care
13. Le Chemin
14. Let Me Give You More
15. Outro
Expansion presents a brand new album from songwriter, producer and multi-instrumentalist Ian Martin. It’s been five years since his debut “One” since when Ian has toured relentlessly as a working musician with his primary instrument the bass guitar.Originally from Toronto, Canada, Ian studied music in Boston and Berklee before making his way to Los Angeles where he now calls home.
Ian originally took up drums, but switched to bass after trying his hand at songwriting and starting his professional life as a session player. Before recording his debut album he had already worked with Amel Larrieux, Jahiem, Ronnie Jordan and Roy Ayers to name a few. In 2000, Soul Brother Records showcased three tracks from Ian’s album “One” on their compilation “Organic Soul” which introduced him to UK audiences and highlighted his skill at assembling other musicians and singers around him to produce quality music.
Since the release of the album Ian toured with Maxwell and then extensively with Barry Manilow of whom he greatly admired and took inspiration. “Barry always follows his own path, trusts his instincts fearlessly and does what he believes in”, he says. In between times Ian set to work on this follow up “The Way” with the help of Andreas Hellingh in Amsterdam. With Ian’s creative skills, and Andreas’ ear for what Europeans like in their soul music, the two have spent five years creating the ultimate real soul album for both sides of the Atlantic.
A star cast of guests has been assembled, including Gavin Christopher (the voice of Herbie Hancock’s “Stars In Your Eyes”) on one of the lead vocal cuts “Brother”. Ian had previously played bass for Gavin at a show that went so well he felt comfortable in asking him to return the favour on this album.
Also featured here are Sy Smith (Star 69, Frank McComb etc), Craig T. Cooper,Jeff Robinson (“Knockdown Side”), Louis Van Taylor (flautist for Steve Harvey on the Brigette album “Starlite Lounge”), Tim Owens (“Let Me Give You More”) and Robin McMcElhatten who sang “Rise” on Ian’s debut and delivers the album’s key modern soul dance cut “Movin’ On’” on this incredible album. Watch for the extended version of “Movin’ On” on limited edition 12”single. - Expansion

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: The Way CD

How do you rate this product? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars

Zoom image/s


Add To Basket