Gene Chandler - Duke Of Earl The Gene Chandler Story 1961-1962 CD

Gene Chandler

Duke Of Earl The Gene Chandler Story 1961-1962 CD


Add To Basket

Title: Duke Of Earl The Gene Chandler Story 1961-1962 CD
Artist: Gene Chandler
Label: Jasmine
Catalogue #: JASCD925
Format: CD
Genre: Northern Soul, Classic Soul, R&B
Release Year: 2016
Condition: New & Sealed

1. The Dukays - The Girl’s A Devil
2. The Dukays - The Big Lie
3. The Dukays - Nite Owl
4. The Dukays - Festival Of Love
5. Gene Chandler - Duke Of Earl
6. Gene Chandler - Kissin’ In The Kitchen
7. Gene Chandler - Stand By Me
8. Gene Chandler - Daddy’s Home
9. Gene Chandler - I Wake Up Crying
10. Gene Chandler - Turn On Your Lovelight
11. Gene Chandler - I’ll Follow You
12. Gene Chandler - So Many Ways
13. Gene Chandler - Lonely Island
14. The Duke Of Earl - Walk On With The Duke
15. The Duke Of Earl - London Town
16. The Duke Of Earl - Forgive Me
17. The Duke Of Earl - You Left Me
18. Gene Chandler - Tear For Tear
19. Gene Chandler - Miracle After Miracle
20. Gene Chandler - You Threw A Lucky Punch
21. Gene Chandler - Rainbow
Bonus Tracks
22. The Pearlettes - Duchess Of Earl
23. The Dukays - Please Help
24. The Dukays - I’m Gonna Love You So
25. The Dukays - I Never Knew
26. The Dukays - I Feel Good All Over
27. The Dukays - Tango Bop

This compilation features everything that Gene Chandler sang on during 1961-62, including both group and solo recordings. Gene's LP The Duke Of Earl is virtually impossible to find on CD in stereo and seven of the sides featured herein are genuine collectors' rarities and have never previously appeared on CD.
Perhaps the last Truly Great, quintessential Doo Wop record, 'Duke Of Earl' was recorded by Chicago vocal quintet The Dukays, although due to record company, music publisher and contractual complications, it served to launch lead singer Eugene Dixon on his solo career as Gene Chandler.
Includes the Dukays' hits 'The Girl's A Devil' and 'Nite Owl', alongside his own subsequent solo successes 'Duke Of Earl' (a multi-million selling, worldwide hit), 'Walk On With The Duke', 'Tear For Tear' and his early crossover Chicago Soul hits, 'You Threw A Lucky Punch' and 'Rainbow'.
Also included, by way of "bonus tracks", are The Pearlettes' 'Answer Disc', 'Duchess Of Earl', and a handful of ultra-rare Dukays sides featuring Charles Davis (who took over from Chandler) on lead vocals.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Duke Of Earl The Gene Chandler Story 1961-1962 CD

How do you rate this product? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars

Zoom image/s


Add To Basket