Beggar & Co Featuring The Funk Jazz Collective - Sleeping Giants CD
  • Beggar & Co Featuring The Funk Jazz Collective - Sleeping Giants CD
  • Beggar & Co Featuring The Funk Jazz Collective - Sleeping Giants CD (Back)

Beggar & Co Featuring The Funk Jazz Collective

Sleeping Giants CD

2 for £10 offer

Add To Basket

Title: Sleeping Giants CD
Artist: Beggar & Co Featuring The Funk Jazz Collective
Label: Expansion
Catalogue #: EXCDP60
Format: CD
Genre: Soul Jazz, Jazz Funk
Release Year: 2012
Condition: New & Sealed

1. If You Really Love
2. Victoria Park
3. Summer Is Here At Last
4. Changes
5. Street Life
6. Sleeping Giants
7. Rainbows
8. While The City Sleeps
9. New Beginnings
10. Rise
11. Rise Of The Phoenix
12. Say What
13. Yesterday's Gone
14. Victoria Park (Radio Version)

Sleeping Giants was recorded in London and in Los Angeles, and features some of the great musicians of jazz, funk and soul. The horn section comprising of Beggar & Co and Incognito family members. Bass and Drums are provided by dynamic rhythm section players Billy Osborne and Otto Williams from the USA. Guitar duties are shared by Canadian Kevin Briggs, Ray Salvano (USA) and Breeze from Beggar & Co. Billy Osborne III (Senior) of Love, Togetherness and Devotion (LTD) also adds a fine keyboard solo on Rainbows . Indeed there is a fine assembling of keyboard players on the album. Mark Walker and Toby Baker have contributed to work by artistes ranging from Michael McDonald to Westlife. Phil Ramacon is a Grammy award winning songwriter as a co-composer of Buffalo Stance . Orphy Robinson contributes some fine vibraphone work on Rainbows and New Beginnings very much in the vein of the great Roy Ayers. Vocalist Gee Morris is of course best known as Innocence having attained many hits in the National charts. Shereen Dyer and Ian Pitta (USA) give particularly noteworthy performances on the Stevie Wonder cover If You Really Love Me , giving it a new dimension. Emma Louise Harris, aka Sel and also of Soul II Soul gives a wonderful rendition of The Crusaders Street Life . Camelle was a key member of Central Line who achieved hit record status in both the UK and USA. This collection of musicians have contributed to record sales of many millions for a wide range of artists in the world of soul, funk, jazz and popular music. The concept of the collective came about after the musicians often found themselves playing together as both live and recording artists often with some of the foremost artistes in the genres.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Sleeping Giants CD

How do you rate this product? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars

Zoom image/s


Add To Basket