1000 Volts Of Stax CD

1000 Volts Of Stax CD

Various Artists


Add To Basket

Title: 1000 Volts Of Stax CD
Artist: Various Artists
Label: Stax
Catalogue #: CDSXD042
Format: CD
Genre: 60s Soul
Release Year: 1991
Condition: New & Sealed
01 Hideaway - Booker T & The MGs
02 Don't You Lie To Me - Albert King
03 Cupid - Otis Redding
04 Don't Worry About Tomorrow - Bobby Marchan
05 Walking The Dog - Rufus Thomas
06 Run Around - Carla Thomas
07 Floyd's Beat - Floyd Newman
08 When My Love Comes Down - Ruby Johnson
09 She Won't Be Like You - William Bell
10 Sweet Devil - Mable John
11 Cloudburst - The Mad Lads
12 Hippy Dippy - The Mar-Keys
13 Don't Mess Up A Good Thing - Carla & Rufus Thomas
14 Never Let Me Go - William Bell
15 Just Enough To Hurt Me - The Astors
16 I've Got Dreams To Remember - Otis Redding
17 (Sittin' On The) Dock Of The Bay - Booker T & The MGs
18 Knock On Wood - Eddie Floyd

This is the taster for the Stax Sessions series. Opening with a previously unissued Booker T. & The MGs version of Freddy King's "Hideaway" it segues into another famous blues king, Albert, with a so sharp version of his own "I Get Evil". Then there is a real find in Otis Bedding's previously unissued version of the Sam Cooke classic, "Cupid". This version is exclusive to this CD, since a second and very different take is used on the Otis Redding compilation. There is also a completely different version of "I've Got Dreams To Remember" from Otis and continuing the connection, a very moving version of "Dock Of The Bay" by Booker T.& The MGs. There is also a second out-take of "Walking The Dog" by Rufus Thomas,( not on the "Can't Get Away From The Dog" CD) and a different cut on William Bell's "She Won't Be Like You". So this is a unique disc for the real collector -  Ace Records

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: 1000 Volts Of Stax CD

How do you rate this product? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars

Zoom image/s


Add To Basket